World Seniors Championship Seedings Announced

Home » World Seniors Championship Seedings Announced

The top eight seeds have been announced ahead of the LLP Solicitors World Seniors Snooker Championship next month.

The eight players will be seeded into position and cannot meet each other in the opening round. The draw will once again be carried out during the BBC’s live coverage of the Cazoo World Championship later this month.

The seeds include the seven invited players and the next highest ranked place on the current World Snooker Tour rankings, who will be the eighth seed:

  1. Lee Walker (defending champion)
  2. Mark Davis
  3. Jimmy White
  4. Ken Doherty
  5. Stephen Hendry
  6. Joe Johnson
  7. Tony Drago
  8. Peter Lines

The qualifiers are:

  • Darren Morgan (Current European Seniors Champion)
  • Vito Puopolo (Current Pan American Seniors Champion)
  • Gerard Greene
  • Mohamed Khairy (Current African Seniors Champion)
  • Alfie Burden
  • Ben Hancorn (Amateur Qualifier)
  • Adrian Ridley (Current Asia-Pacific Seniors Champion)
  • Golden Ticket Winner (Last place will be won weekend of 22/23rd April from the top 16 on the World Seniors ranking list not already qualified)

Should the opening round results unfold in accordance with seeding, there are some intriguing quarter-finals in prospect. These could include a clash between Lee Walker and Peter Lines – the current holders of the World and UK Seniors Championship titles, while Stephen Hendry and Ken Doherty could meet in a repeat of the 1997 World Championship final.

Tickets are available with some matches already scheduled – book now to avoid disappointment!