World Seniors Update: Masters Trophy to be named after John Spencer

Home » World Seniors Update: Masters Trophy to be named after John Spencer

World Seniors Snooker has today announced that the World Seniors Masters trophy is to be named after the great John Spencer, the first-ever winner of the professional Masters tournament.

John Spencer smilingThe event will be staged at the iconic Crucible Theatre, Sheffield on 12th April 2018 and see eight players battle it out to win the John Spencer Trophy.

Jason Francis of World Seniors Snooker said: “As a three-time world champion, the first winner of the Masters and former WPBSA Chairman, John did so much for the game and I’m delighted that his partner Jean has granted us permission to name our trophy in his honour!”

Jason Ferguson, WPBSA Chairman said: “John Spencer was not only a huge snooker star during the formative years of the modern era, memorably becoming the first player to win the World Championship at the Crucible, but he was also one of my snooker heroes as a young player. He also previously served as WPBSA Chairman and I have many very fond memories of him. I kept in touch with him and spoke to him just before he passed away.

“The decision to name this trophy after him is a fitting one and I am sure that the event will be a success.”

Following the conclusion of play at the final qualifier at Upton Park Snooker Centre earlier this month the line-up for the World Seniors Masters event was finalised.

Jonathan Bagley, a taxi driver from Leeds, defeated former professional Barry Pinches on the final black ball to become the final qualifier for the event. He will now realise a dream to walk out at the Crucible Theatre where he will face 1985 world champion Dennis Taylor.

Jonathan completes a stellar line-up for the event which will also see former professional Michael Judge, who won the first qualifying event in Newbury, come up against seven-time world champion Stephen Hendry in the last eight.

The full draw is:

Joe Johnson v Cliff Thorburn
Dennis Taylor v Jonathan Bagley
Stephen Hendry v Michael Judge
John Parrott v Willie Thorne

The winner will take home the John Spencer Trophy and a first prize of £7,500.


Images provided by David Muscroft.